ANNUAL REPORT 2010-11

INTRODUCTION

Puducherry, a small Union Territory on the East Coast of India extends over an area of 479. Sq.Kms. It comprises of four geographically isolated regions namely Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam. Puducherry, the capital of the U.T is on the South of Chennai at a distance of 162 Kms. Karaikal lies 130 Kms South of Puducherry. Mahe is situated near Tellicherry, Kerala at a distance of 850 Kms from Puducherry on the Malabar Coast. Yanam is situated on the East Coast geographically in Andhra Pradesh and politically forming part of the U.T. of Puducherry at a distance of 870 Kms (North) from Puducherry. The Union Territory of Puducherry consists of two districts viz., Puducherry District comprising of Puducherry, Mahe and Yanam regions and Karaikal district comprising of Karaikal regions.